Short answer: irradiance tells you the incident optical power per unit area at a stated measurement plane. Multiply a stable, time-averaged irradiance by exposure time to calculate incident radiant exposure at that plane. You still need the distance, coverage, measurement method, operating mode and use geometry before the number becomes meaningful—and the result is not a treatment prescription.

Start with four quantities—not one headline number

Irradiance

Incident radiant power per unit area at a surface. Consumer PBM products commonly report mW/cm². The CIE base definition uses W/m².[1]

Exposure time

How many seconds the area is illuminated. Session time only belongs in the calculation if the irradiance describes that same area and operating mode.

Radiant exposure

Incident radiant energy per unit area, commonly reported in PBM as J/cm². It is the time integral of irradiance at a surface.[2]

Area and geometry

Where the reading was taken, how much area is illuminated, and how evenly. A value at the centre is not automatically representative of the edges or a curved body surface.

PBM papers and product pages often use dose, fluence or energy density for a J/cm² value. Terminology is not always consistent. PLT uses incident radiant exposure here because it describes what the arithmetic establishes: energy arriving per unit area at a specified surface. It does not say how much energy is absorbed by tissue or whether a biological effect follows.

The basic calculation

radiant exposureH (J/cm²) = E (W/cm²)irradiance × t (seconds)exposure time

If irradiance is reported in mW/cm², divide by 1,000 first because 1,000 milliwatts equals one watt.

Hypothetical arithmetic example

50 mW/cm² for 10 minutes

  1. 50 mW/cm² ÷ 1,000 = 0.050 W/cm²
  2. 10 minutes × 60 = 600 seconds
  3. 0.050 W/cm² × 600 seconds = 30 J/cm²

What 30 J/cm² does not prove

  • that the starting irradiance figure is accurate;
  • that every point in the treatment area receives 50 mW/cm²;
  • that 30 J/cm² reaches a deeper biological target;
  • that it is appropriate for a particular device, person or condition; or
  • that a clinical result will occur.

Equal arithmetic does not guarantee equal biology

25 mW/cm² for 120 seconds and 100 mW/cm² for 30 seconds both calculate to 3 J/cm² incident radiant exposure. PBM reviews nevertheless describe dependence on irradiance, duration and other parameters—not just their product.[5] Use the equation to check arithmetic, not to declare two protocols therapeutically interchangeable.

Why distance changes the picture

An irradiance figure without distance is incomplete for a non-contact device. As you move away from an individual LED, its beam spreads and its contribution at a point generally changes. In an array, beams also overlap. The treatment-plane pattern therefore depends on LED spacing, optics, angle and distance—not just total electrical power.

Illustration of a light source, working distance and uneven treatment-plane irradiance A panel on the left emits widening beams toward five measurement points on a treatment plane. The centre points are darker than the outer points to illustrate that one centre reading need not represent the whole area. source stated working distance treatment plane
Illustration, not a device measurement. Multiple readings across the intended plane reveal coverage that one centre-point reading cannot. No numerical fall-off or measured beam profile is implied.

A simple inverse-square calculation is not a safe substitute for a measured map of a nearby multi-LED panel. The array is not one ideal point source, and a consumer may be using it in the region where many diverging beams overlap. Moving farther away may reduce local peaks while changing the size and uniformity of the illuminated field. Only distance-specific measurements across the relevant plane can describe that field.

Masks illustrate the same issue in a different geometry. Close emitters remove the user-selected panel distance, but the face is curved and emitter-to-skin gaps can vary. The panel-versus-mask guide owns that form-factor decision; this page explains why neither geometry can be reduced to one output number.

Why one irradiance number can mislead

A number may be correct for the exact place and setup where it was measured while still being a poor description of the whole session. Hadis and colleagues found that 73% of the 74 PBM papers they reviewed did not report how light was measured; beam area, irradiance and pulse frequency were also frequently omitted.[3] Their review and earlier reporting guidance emphasise measurement at the target, beam area, beam profile, application technique and pulse parameters.[4]

Reported detailWhat it can tell youWhat remains unknown
Centre or peak readingOutput at a selected point under stated conditions.Average exposure, edge fall-off, hotspots and total usable area.
Area averageA more representative value if the boundary, sampling grid and calculation are disclosed.Local peaks and troughs unless the underlying map is also shown.
Multiple-point mapHow irradiance varies across a stated plane and distance.Exposure on a curved or differently positioned body surface.
Total optical powerTotal radiant power emitted under defined conditions.How that power is distributed per square centimetre at the target.
Electrical consumptionPower drawn by the device.Optical output; driver and emitter efficiency intervene.

The instrument is part of the result

“Measured” is not a complete method. A useful report identifies the instrument model, calibration status, spectral range or response, input optics, distance, angle, aperture and sampling approach. A spectrally resolved instrument can show how output is distributed by wavelength, while a broadband meter reduces its response to one reading. Neither label alone guarantees accuracy: detector response must suit the source, calibration matters, and a “spectrometer” is not necessarily a calibrated spectroradiometer.

That does not make manufacturer measurements inherently dishonest or useless. It means two readings made with different instruments or procedures should not be treated as if only the product changed. Manufacturer data can still be valuable when its method and conditions are explicit.

Continuous and pulsed output

For stable continuous output, the basic equation uses the irradiance operating during the full exposure. For pulsed output, ask whether the figure is peak irradiance during a pulse or time-averaged irradiance across the pulse-and-pause cycle. Peak irradiance multiplied by total session time can overstate incident radiant exposure if off-time is ignored. Pulse duration, repetition frequency, duty cycle and measurement method are therefore necessary context. Pulsing is not automatically a quality advantage, and evidence from one pulse pattern cannot be assigned to every device with a “pulse” button.

Real use adds another layer. Selected wavelength mode, dimming, warm-up or operating temperature, power source or battery state, angle, movement and actual distance may differ from the manufacturer’s measurement setup. Those factors do not prove a published value is wrong; they explain why a specification is a reference condition rather than a measurement of each home session. Research reporting guidance recommends checking output before and after exposures because stability itself should be verified.[4]

A real example from PLT’s panel data

Manufacturer claims, not PLT measurements: these values were transcribed from official Australian product pages checked on 8 September 2026. PLT has not independently tested either panel.
Manufacturer claim

Infraredi Pro Max 2.0

250 mW/cm²

Instrument
Solar meter
Distance
Not stated in the checked table
Position/map
Not stated
Two manufacturer claims

BlockBlueLight PowerPanel MAX

162 and 76 mW/cm²

Instruments
Solar meter; “light spectrometer”
Distance
6 inches
Position/map
Not stated

BlockBlueLight’s two different values at the same stated distance make the method problem unusually visible.[9] They do not prove which number is the product’s “true irradiance” for every purpose. Infraredi’s larger headline cannot be compared cleanly because the checked table does not state distance or position.[8] PLT therefore does not turn these three values into a league table or use them to calculate recommended session times.

See how that uncertainty affects the Infraredi versus BlockBlueLight comparison and why irradiance remains outside the Australian panel shortlist table.

From incident exposure to a research protocol

A study protocol is more than a J/cm² value. To judge whether it resembles a consumer setup, look for wavelength and spectral width, source type, output mode, irradiance at the tissue, exposed area, distance or contact technique, time per exposure, number and spacing of sessions, anatomical site, population and measured outcome. Reporting guidance exists precisely because omissions prevent replication.[4]

Even complete incident-exposure reporting does not calculate energy at a deeper target. Biological tissue both absorbs and scatters light, and those optical properties vary with wavelength, tissue composition and structure.[7] Surface irradiance is therefore not the same quantity as absorbed energy in skin or irradiance at muscle, joint, brain or another deeper location. “Near-infrared penetrates deeper” is not a conversion factor.

PBM dose-response literature also cautions against treating more incident energy as automatically better. A review described biphasic and dose-rate-dependent responses, but its evidence at the time was largely laboratory and animal research and it did not establish one universal treatment window.[6] The consumer lesson is modest: do not infer an optimum, a danger threshold or a personal protocol from one generic chart or from the largest advertised irradiance.

This guide does not prescribe a dose

A calculated incident radiant exposure does not establish safety or benefit for your intended use. Follow the instructions for the exact device and seek appropriately qualified advice for a medical condition, photosensitivity, medication interaction or treatment decision. See PLT’s terms and health disclaimer.

What to look for before comparing two products

  1. At what distance? Is it the distance the manufacturer actually tells you to use?
  2. Where was the reading taken? Centre, peak, area average or a disclosed grid of points?
  3. Across what area? Are panel dimensions being mistaken for illuminated treatment coverage?
  4. With what instrument? Is the model, calibration and spectral suitability stated?
  5. In which operating mode? Red only, near-infrared only, both, dimmed, continuous or pulsed?
  6. Peak or average? For pulsed output, does the number include off-time?
  7. Does the arithmetic use seconds and watts? Convert mW to W before calculating J/cm².
  8. Is a study being borrowed? Does its device, geometry, protocol, anatomical site and outcome materially match?
  9. Are the two numbers genuinely like-for-like? If methods differ or details are missing, leave the comparison unresolved.

Sources and references

  1. International Lighting Vocabulary: irradiance (17-21-053). International Commission on Illumination (CIE). 2020-12. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  2. International Lighting Vocabulary: radiant exposure (17-21-071). International Commission on Illumination (CIE). 2020-12. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  3. Mohammed A. Hadis et al.. The dark art of light measurement: accurate radiometry for low-level light therapy. Lasers in Medical Science. 2016-03-10. DOI: 10.1007/s10103-016-1914-y. PMID: 26964800. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  4. Peter A. Jenkins, James D. Carroll. How to report low-level laser therapy (LLLT)/photomedicine dose and beam parameters in clinical and laboratory studies. Photomedicine and Laser Surgery. 2011-12. DOI: 10.1089/pho.2011.9895. PMID: 22107486. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  5. Randa Zein, Wayne Selting, Michael R. Hamblin. Review of light parameters and photobiomodulation efficacy: dive into complexity. Journal of Biomedical Optics. 2018-12-01. DOI: 10.1117/1.JBO.23.12.120901. PMID: 30550048. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  6. Ying-Ying Huang, Sulbha K. Sharma, James Carroll, Michael R. Hamblin. Biphasic dose response in low level light therapy—an update. Dose-Response. 2011-09-02. DOI: 10.2203/dose-response.11-009.Hamblin. PMID: 22461763. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  7. Steven L. Jacques. Optical properties of biological tissues: a review. Physics in Medicine & Biology. 2013-06-07. DOI: 10.1088/0031-9155/58/11/R37. PMID: 23666068. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  8. Infraredi Pro Max 2.0 product page. Infraredi Australia. Accessed 2026-09-08.
  9. PowerPanel MAX product page. BlockBlueLight Australia. Accessed 2026-09-08.